Day 2

Today my daughter Alex and I went to see the Cherry Blossoms in Washington DC.  We have lived in this area for 19 years and I have never seen them.  It always seemed if work was just too crazy whenever the blossoms decided to pop and it never worked out.  Needless to say, they were stunningly beautiful.  It wasn’t too crowded either – I love not having to do everything on the weekend.  Alex and I then had a great lunch at a pub in downtown DC.  It is great that the weather is so good – spring has come to DC.

Needless to say, I didn’t get to any of the things that I wanted to do today.  It still seems more like a vacation although there is a lot hanging over my head so I haven’t really gotten a sense of the “stress free” part of retirement.  I already feel behind on starting to get the house organized for sale and all the other things I need to do.

I know I need to establish a routine.  How long before the rest of you retirees out there figured it all out?  Did you start with a routine right away or did you gradually more into one?  Well maybe I’ll make more progress tomorrow.

About Cathy Beck

Not working gives me the time to sit in my recliner reading books and watching as many of the 450 hour long scripted dramas on TV as possible. I do get up once or twice a week to see a movie (in a theatre) for exercise. In my mind, it is all justified by writing a blog.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 2

  1. Debbie Schenker says:

    My neighbor retired about three years ago. She felt guilty in the first few months about reading the paper while drinking coffee, and not really knowing what to do with herself. Well now she has somewhat of a routine, but being retired, she is totally flexible and able to go do u planned things at a moments notice. Develop a routine for part of the day because you want to, but keep all your options open, now and later.

    You have so much to do over the next 9 to 12 months that I rather doubt you’ll be able to maintain much of a routine…. And who cares!

    Congratulations on the blog, great idea!

  2. erincrooks says:

    Where are Day 3 and 4?! I am excited to follow your adventures, but will miss you when I return to work!

    • Cathy Beck says:

      Unlike your blog, I don’t have enough interesting stuff to post every day! I figure a few entries a week are enough for anyone! This has been a tough week so far as we had to put our lab to sleep last night. My big goal for the week is to get the Ipad working! Moving ahead selling the house. May need to come up in April. Would love to see Connor and Claire if that is possible. I’ll keep in touch!

      Cathy

  3. erincrooks says:

    I did not see this until now! I am so sorry about your lab, I hope you are all okay. The Ipad is amazing we just got one and it syncs everything with our I-phones! Would love to see you in mid-April – just let me know when.

Leave a Reply

