Week 1

Ok…it’s Saturday.  It feels like the weekend.  I wonder when the time will come where the weekdays are indistinguishable from the weekends?  I’m sure that happens but for now, it still feels like I’m on vacation and the weekends are my time to relax from the hectic pace of the week.  I’m getting great advice from many of my retired friends and it is reinforcing some of my gut reactions to all of this.  Namely:

  • It is going to take time to figure out what works – maybe even up to a year
  • A flexible schedule seems to be helpful to many
  • Got to get over the guilt of doing things that are just fun to do
  • Find something meaningful

So, how did I do relative to my overall goals?  Ok…not great.  I think I need to set some specific goals each week which will keep me focused.  The structure I initially set up for each day was too much and just winging it the first week didn’t quite get me there.  I did keep up with the exercise but had some other activities take my focus away.  Specifically, we got through Attorney Review and am working through Home Inspection on the selling of my NJ condo.  I have some other issues that I need to take care of at the beginning of the week but this created a fair amount of pressure and stress and lots of paperwork to be reviewed.  In addition, my father is quite ill again and in the hospital so I have to be prepared for an unplanned trip to Oregon.  Finally, our blind and crippled dog Toby has taken a major turn for the worse and seems to be unable to walk which means that we are going to have to put him down soon.  He has been such a fighter over the past couple of years and it is going to be really tough.

On the plus side, I had a long lunch with a couple of retired friends and I saw the Hunger Games with my daughter in the middle of the day.  I did a few hours of closet organizing etc but not as much as I would like.  So – my bottom line for next week is to:

  • Set some very specific goals to accomplish – I think they will be in the areas of:
  1. Household tasks
  2. NJ Real Estate Closing Activities
  3. Exercise schedule
  4. Reading

I’m hoping that this will work out better than having a daily schedule in which I try to allocate specific hours to specific duties.  We’ll see how it goes.  Keep your ideas coming.  They are really helpful!

 

About Cathy Beck

Not working gives me the time to sit in my recliner reading books and watching as many of the 450 hour long scripted dramas on TV as possible. I do get up once or twice a week to see a movie (in a theatre) for exercise. In my mind, it is all justified by writing a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

